Fun Facts About the PGA Championship - Los Angeles
Fun Facts About the PGA Championship

PGA Championship

The 100th PGA Championship is almost here, and the team at TGA of Los Angeles can’t wait for it to start. Dating back to 1916 (don’t worry, your math isn’t wrong; the event took a hiatus during WWI and WWII), the annual event is a must-watch tournament. This year, The PGA Championship will take place August 9-12 at Bellerive Country Club in St. Louis, MO.  Here are a few of our favorite fun facts about the major.

1) The winner of the tournament gets to hold onto a replica of the Wanamaker trophy for one-year. The original trophy, now safely in the hands of the PGA of America, briefly went missing after golfing great Walter Hagen claimed he “lost” it in 1928. It was coincidentally found two years later in the basement of the manufacturer of Hagen’s golf club line.

2) Each year a different golf course in the US hosts the major, but don’t get your hopes up if you live on the west coast and want to attend the tournament. In the event’s long history, west coast golf courses have hosted the PGA Championship only 10 times.

3) Before changing to stroke play in 1958, The PGA Championship was the only major to use match play as its format.

4) The field consists of 156 golfers, and half are cut midway through the four-day tournament based on their score.

5) The only way an amateur can participate is if they’ve won any of the four major championships. Winners of the PGA Championship are given a lifelong invitation to the event while the previous five winners of the US Open, Masters, and British Open are invited annually.

Even though the PGA Championship is the fourth and final major of the year, golf is a year-round sport at TGA and it’s not too late to sign up for a last-minute golf camp or one of our upcoming enrichment programs. Click here for more information.